Skip to content

It’s been awhile…

April 11, 2013

Rather than blathering about the usual ‘been busy with life’ I’ll get down to the meaty stuff.

I’m considering working with NXT again. But, I need to state some things.

I have a 3-axis analog(?) accelerometer (from HiTechnic), a single-axis analog gyro (also from HT), and a Dexter Industries dIMU (digital 3-axis gyro and 3-axis accel all in one).

On top of those sensors I have the standard NXT 1.0 kit, although I’m considering gutting the mic and turning into something else, still undecided about what I’d turn it into.

I can’t think of anything else I have off the top of my head—wii motes, a jailbroken iTouch, and a PS3 controller are also in my inventory but those are non-standard.

Lastly, I do things that are challenges. Render grayscale on a black and white screen without knowing other people have done this? Check. Build a balancing bot from a light sensor without knowing that’s how other people did it? Check. Building one from just an accelerometer? Check. building self-driving ballbots, unicycles, and motorcycles? Check, check, and check. Writing a physics engine just for the sake of driving crazy visuals on the display? Check. I could go on, but you get the idea: using something beyond it’s original purposes, thinking outside the box.

So with that in mind… what should I attempt next? I’d like to try my hand at a hexapod, I think, or some take on a walking bot. You guys do some pretty crazy stuff yourself, and while I don’t have fancy stuff like omniwheels or anything, I’ve still got a crazy brain that works around such obstacles.

So I end this post with a vague question, sue me. I’m just trying to get the ball rolling.

 

Edit: I forgot to mention. If I can’t find anything interesting enough to get me back into NXT, that stuff is for sale, y’all. I’m trying to sell the HiTechnic sensors anyways since I obviously don’t need them…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

