Skip to content

Grayscale images on the NXT screen?

September 10, 2010
My self-protrait

Hello, readers!

This past week I have been working on a project, something that should have been done from the beginning: displaying better images on the NXT screen. After all, it can only handle on/off pixels: no gray scale, nothing other than pure black and white. I thought, why not change that? If you flash a pixel on/off 20 times per second, it looks like a 50% pixel, as if a shade of gray had been added to the screen’s capabilities. So why not do this with the programming? Make a few images that have some pixels on and some pixels off, with each one varying the contrast, and then flash them repeatedly in sequence (perhaps using a loop block).

After some trial-and-error, I think I have the process down. I make the images, make a program that uses them, and then post them somewhere. Then you download my graphics and put them in your Pictures directory (and download my program, too). Once you have everything in its place, you open my program on your computer and save it. Then you load it on your NXT and enjoy!

I will soon finish the first complete demo, when I do I will post it.

– Stryker

My self-protrait

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. It’s almost done! Hopefully I can post it this Saturday. (If not earlier)

  2. Matthew Richardson permalink

    There was a topic on nxtasy explaining this very matter. Go to http://forums.nxtasy.org/index.php?showtopic=5497 Essentially, we figured out that it is impossible to do it, based on the embedded digital networking system in the NXT (refresh rate).

    Matt

Leave a Reply

